hometown.

in my hometown,

my heart beats with the rain

beating down on the windowsill

and my smile waxes and wanes

with the barely visible moon.

 

in my hometown,

the people seem to move faster

they seem to move on faster

I hear of people’s hearts who are broken

but then they’re up and dating the next heart

 

in my hometown,

the people never seem to notice

the smell of freedom found in new cars,

how few the stars are; we have too many lights,

the subtle slip of seasons

 

in my hometown,

I do not feel at home

my heart is uneasy in this place,

maybe, it’s because it beats with the rain

and not the monotony I see in everyone’s eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “hometown.

Leave a Reply

