Dear Someone XVI

Dear Someone,

 

I am feminist.

not because I hate men

or I think we deserve better than them

 

but because

I want to see my daughter thrive

and not crumble before 16

 

to walk with her head high and not in fear

because someone might hurt her

like I have for years

 

to not be ashamed of her body

because some boy told her she should be skinny

like I have for years

 

to stop dreaming

because someone told her it was impossible

like I have for years

 

I want her to be free

and to look into her eyes and be proud of her decisions

like I wish my mother would look at me

 

and those boys will say,

“her beauty is pure, because of her strong-will,”

like I wish they would’ve believed about me.

 

Love,

Liv

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Dear Someone XVI

Leave a Reply

