casualties.

these casualties keep piling up
around us
you hardly seem to notice
but I see the pain
it is causing

you call me a coward
call me what you like
I don’t answer to your command
because I’m realizing
this isn’t my battle

shoot me down
with the gun cocked in your hands
the one you wanted to fire
for so long
the trigger feels slippery on your fingertips
the weight
of taking or leaving life

watch me bleed
as the sun rises
orange and red
what beautiful mess
we’ve created
on this battlefield

Leave a Reply

