matches.

here, I have matches
light one, snuff it out
light another, just to do it again
why? why? why?

burn me out of your mind
off you heart
and restart
forget my name
and ask it again

instead, you give them back
with one still in your hand
you light it
in front my eyes
illuminating the
blackness that surrounds me

light me,  I thought
watch me go down in flames
this pain will
smolder in the ashes
and you won’t have to look back

but you hold that match
watching the small flame
flicker in the harsh conditions
and I stand
hoping
you won’t blow it out

2 thoughts on “matches.

Leave a Reply

