Be Yourself (Cliché, But True)

This is the most overused, cliché thing ever said…but please, be yourself.

I find sometimes I slip up and say I’d love to change things about myself. Excessive talk about movies, quoting everything and everyone, looking for deeper issues than who you’re ‘in love’ with, the tendency to write all day, and seeing something and automatically thinking, man that would be great in a poem.

It’s who I am. Seriously. I don’t know who I would be without it–oh wait yeah I do, middle school me. Some people don’t understand that yet.

I dressed up the other day. It may sound immature, but I love doing it. Immaturity is a concept, we’re always going to be immature to someone.

I’m going to have fun. No matter what they think.

Why can’t I? Who’s going to stop me? I’m sick and tired of people holding me to a standard.

I’m tired of getting hurt when I mess up people’s feelings. When I’m not everything they expected.

I mean, if someone doesn’t want to be my friend because something I do or believe, that’s not my problem, it’s theirs. We’re all different, you have to accept the differences.

If I’m afraid someone’s not ‘fall’ in love with me, that’s alright. They aren’t worth my time. And, if I never find someone who loves my quirky ways, I’ll be perfectly fine. I’m not defined by some boy.

So be yourself, no matter how cliché it sounds.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Be Yourself (Cliché, But True)

Leave a Reply

