Don’t Laugh (Though You Probably Will…)

Yesterday, my childhood crush crushed me.

I sat in kitchen, eating Cheese-Its, and vanilla ice cream with strawberries and chocolate chips.

The Olympics played on the TV. I love the Olympics, more than anyone in my family. My favorite event since I was 4 (my first Olympics that I can remember) was swimming. Then diving, gymnastics, rowing, and fencing.

My first crush was on Michael Phelps. You may laugh, but it’s true.

So there I sat on the counter-top. Watching swimming, routing for the USA, (admittedly) Irish, and British teams. (My dad says I’m not patriotic since I cheered for the Irish guy, and USA was racing. Oh well.) When the Men’s Relay Race happened, and they showed Michael Phelps’s fiancé.

There goes my: becoming an Olympic swimmer, winning gold, impressing Michael Phelps, and marrying him dream.

I went into the living room, and looked at my mom. She just laughed at me, when I told her. Apparently, she never knew…but she thought it was hilarious. Then she proceeded to say, ‘Why do you always fall for the egotistical, dark-haired, rude, jerks?’

*Sighs* Mom……………………….not always, just 9/10 times. I almost whipped out my, ‘we accept the love we think we deserve,’ quote from Perks of Being a Wallflower (my new favorite movie.)

She also proceeded to criticize him. His ears, his mouth, and said he was, ‘eh.’ I just sat there and tried (but failed) to defend my 8 and 12 year old self.

Anywho, I thought I would share that. Because, it means another unrealistic dream I can cross off my list for never happening.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Laugh (Though You Probably Will…)

  1. YOU’RE WELCOME FOR INTRODUCING YOU TO PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER I TOLD YOU IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST AMAZING MOVIES OF THE CENTURY (excluding the 20th century of course)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

