Prince Charming

It has taken me a while to get used to the idea that there is no Prince Charming. Honestly, I used to dream of some guy riding in on his white horse and taking me faraway. I’ve even made one of those ‘lists’ of what your Prince Charming is.

He had black hair and crystal eyes. He made me laugh and knew the right thing to say every single time. Tall, so I could wear heels and wouldn’t tower over him. Somewhat more logical than me, so he could keep from dying before I’m 30. Poetic, so I wouldn’t have to explain myself and he would write me notes.

But…as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that the Prince Charming you’re looking for–the one you think you so desperately want and need–isn’t who you think he is.

Sure, he’s dashing,  he meets all those checkmarks on your list, and you feel that spark…but that’s just it. It feels deep at first–at least you try to make it feel that way–but then over time it just flickers and fades, and eventually you burn out, not knowing what happened. You’re left with lingering smoke that chokes you and hot ashes.

What you need is someone who deepens you–not changes you–there’s a thin line there. Someone who wants to make you someone you’re not doesn’t deserve you, don’t give the time of day. But–someone who takes the time to try and help you, someone who truly cares, they’re worth it.

They’re always who you least expect–and sometimes want, but he’s what he need. And even then, he’s not going to be perfect. In fact, you’ll probably be angry with  him half the time, but I’m learning love’s like that–really, really bittersweet.

I hope you find him. I hope I find him.

 

9 thoughts on “Prince Charming

  1. This is sooo relatable that it scares me haha. I have come to realize the same, but I still don’t want to settle for something “less than”, when the time comes…ooh jeez I really hope we will! Lovely post, Liv 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

