Movie Review: Insurgent

Insurgent

I’ve been debating for a while on whether I should write a review or not for the movie Insurgent. And now that I have decided it’s been out for several weeks, so I’m behind the times. *sigh* I just can’t seem to get it right but anyways on to my underrated review.

Being more of a Hunger Games fan myself, I was reluctant to go see Divergent and Insurgent. Without reading the books when I went to see Divergent, I felt like I was falling to the ground with nothing supporting me.

shailene-woodley-tris-falling-through-buildings-insurgent-gif

(See what I did there?) I made sure to read them after it and was better prepared for Insurgent.

Insurgent is an action-packed, thrilling, serious, but at times-humorous movie. Following the story-line of it’s prequel Divergent, Tris is stuck hiding from a tyrannical group hunting down divergents (words in this movie can be confusing if you do not know the terminology behind them. Divergent: tending to be different or develop in different directions.) for experimental purposes.

Teaching lessons such as bravery, self-sacrifice, and perseverance. It definitely had tear drops dripping down my face at times. but I will break it down by category for you.

Violence

tumblr_nghmknhxtd1sn3hw1o3_500

Insurgent is most definitely a violent movie. We see people getting shot everywhere during some scenes, Tris tries to kill someone she is mad at with a knife, broken bones, suicides, and even in one scene a girl’s neck is cracked.

It really depends on who you are. If he are squeamish around violence this isn’t movie I would recommend for you, but if you’re like me and violence doesn’t bother you as bad, then go ahead.

Romance:

tumblr_njl2vgnENM1qg1zuyo2_500

Like almost every teen flick, Insurgent was bound to have a love story. There was no escaping that. In fact, almost the whole movie is circles Tris and her boyfriend, Four (Tobias) who really love each other. At times, it can get a bit sickening but it is sort of adorable at other times. It leaves you wishing that somehow you could rip Tris out of the series and replace yourself instead.

But sometimes, with a lot of kissing, sleeping in the same bed, and at one time a suggestive scene that clips away before anything happens, this movie goes against some of my guidelines being a Christian. It took away some of favoritism for the movie because they could have decided not to include it since it was not in the books.

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend it for someone younger than 13 (thus the rating Liv,) and maybe with a more mature level as well. I think the greatest think you can take away from this movie is forgiving yourself. Tris, after killing her friend, cannot forgive herself for what she has done, she lets it haunt her and take over how she thinks. It’s not until she finally forgives herself that she can move on from the past and start afresh.

P.S. My favorite character was Peter, the most charming of them all. (Me and my friend also think he has a secret crush on Tris.)

anigif_enhanced-20711-1418404056-2

And I also want to sort of apologize. My friend and I made hilarious commentary the whole movie, especially involving Four and his Mommy.  I’m sorry if we ruined the whole movie for you.

 

Leave a Reply

